Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Spenborough & District AC app


Waring scoops top award after outstanding season with Spen AC

By Kevin Aspindle

Awards winners celebrated at the 2018 Spenborough & District Athletic Club Presentation Night

The annual presentation night for the Spenborough & District Athletic Club was held on Friday, 30th November to celebrate the fantastic performances and achievements of the club’s athletes during the 2018 season.
The Allat Memorial Cup, awarded to the most outstanding athlete, was presented to Molly Waring who achieved lifetime bests in 7 different events; was a Cross Country award winner; earned the most points (119 across Track & Field) for a junior woman in the West Yorkshire League; earned the most points for the Club in the fixtures of the Northern Athletics League; won two Silver Medals at the Yorkshire Championships (400m and 400m Hurdles) and was 6th in the final of the English Schools 400m Hurdles.
The ethos of the club is all about training to compete and improving athletes performances, so there were awards for the most improved athletes, which went to Ellie Holden (Track), Daniel Smith (Track), Lily Croughan (Field), Ben Wilson (Field), Leanne Jackson (Road Running) and Dan Dalton (Road Running). And awards for the best and most promising performances went to Molly Waring (Track), Simon Bolland (Track), Ella Barnes (Field), Connor Bell (Field), Angie Buckle (Road Running), Phil Wilkins (Road Running), Jenni Muston (Cross Country) and Henry Carter (Cross Country).
The Club competes in Division 2 of the Northern Athletics League and in North East 2 Division of the Youth Development League, retaining their places at the end of the season after some great overall performances from the athletes. Winners of the Track & Field league trophies were Glenn Aspindle( Snr. Men), Beth Thomas (Snr. Women), Jake Darby(Jnr. Men), Molly Waring (Jnr. Women), Ben Wilson (U17), Olivia Reah (U17), Lewis Barnes & Bayleigh Lawton (U15), Natalie Groves (U15), Lucas Barnes (U13), Molly Firth (U13), Ben Whitaker (U11) and Imogen Atkinson (U11)
Winners of the Road Running and Cross Country league trophies were Joanne Burden (Road Running), Edward Revell (Road Running and Spen20 Champion), Jenni Muston (Cross Country) and Simon Bolland (Cross Country). Winning the awards for the Cross Country performances were Joe Sagar (Snr. Men), Hazel Pike (Snr. Women), Molly Waring (U17), Olivia Reah (U15), Matthew Dalton (U13), Molly Firth (U13), Ben Whitaker (U11) and Isabel Toher (U11).
The full list of awards and the performances can be found on the website.

Updated 10:39 - 7 Dec 2018 by Kevin Aspindle

Related documents

Where next?

Final Results from the West Yorkshire Cross Country League All 4 meetings have been held and the scores are in
Spen AC Spring Open Meeting 2019 Open for Entries This winter warm-up meeting will be held on Sunday, 24th March 2019


Loading comments

Sat 20 Jul
League 11:00
Sat 27 Jul
Senior Road Runners GP Round 9 - Dewsbury Parkrun
Tour 09:00

Club sponsor